Springfield History Exhibits
The Esta Manthos Indian Motocycle Collection
Lyman & Merrie Wood Museum of Springfield History
Founded by George M. Hendee and Carl Oscar Hedstrom, Indian Manufacturing Company produced motorcycles in Springfield from 1901 to 1953. The museum’s collection features more than two dozen motorcycles donated by Esta Manthos, co-founder and president of the former Indian Motocycle Museum which was located on Hendee Street in Springfield from 1974 to 2006.
Among the rarest Indians on view is the 1904 blue Indian designed and owned by Indian co-founder Hedstrom. When he left the company, he took this motorcycle with him, and it was later passed on to his granddaughter. Also featured are Indian racer and dealer Stanley Cornell’s unique 1912 board track cycle with its original board track racing tires; a perfectly restored, operable 1929 101 Scout; and a 1927 hill-climber.
The collection also includes artifacts, memorabilia and photographs highlighting production of Indian’s “everyman” and military motorcycles from the early years at the famous “Wigwam” through the final days of the downtown Springfield factory in 1953.